The 2019 South African Health Excellence Awards Nominations


The health sector remains one of the most pivotal pillars of our nation. Equally, the work delivered by the medical community in various specialities cannot be overstated – their tireless efforts, dedication and commitment to change lives is nothing less than commendable.


To this end, Clinix Health Group and the South African Clinician Scientists Society are proud to host the 2nd instalment of the South African Health Excellence Awards – carrying a vision to celebrate excellence in healthcare by identifying leaders in medicine who have contributed to research, teaching and advancement of medicine in South Africa. The awards also, aim to recognise inspiring leaders who have served as visionaries and mentors in the

medical community.

2019 Awards Pictures
A call for nominations:


These awards will be held on the 23rd of November at Emperors Palace in Johannesburg at 18:00.


The public and different stakeholders in the medical field are encouraged to take some time to give some recognition and nominate worthy recipients to be considered as participants for these awards.


The nomination process, requires a submission of a 200 word abstract about the nominee. A

CV will thereafter be requested from all individuals who are shortlisted.



Award Categories


1.Scientific Excellence Award: 


This award is for an individual who has led ground-breaking research, which has contributed to the advancement of medicine. The individual should have published extensively, taught, mentored and supervised undergraduate and postgraduate students in a manner that has inspired them to become researchers


2. Global Excellence Award: 


This award is for an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to medicine at an international level, through research, training or innovation. There must be evidence of international recognition e.g. awards and international awards. There must be evidence that their contribution has influenced scientific thinking or changed practice. 


3. Clinical Excellence Award: 


This award is for an individual who has excelled in their field as a clinician, through great clinical expertise, teaching and role-modelling


4. Leadership Excellence Award: 


This award is for an individual who has demonstrated great leadership in any area of medicine, within the university, corporate sector or hospital environment, or in health care management, with a proven track record and an undisputed contribution to strengthening the South African healthcare system. 


5. Emerging Leader Award: 


This award is for an academic under the age of 40 who has demonstrated leadership capacity by holding leadership positions in an academic institution, and by serving on national and international committees and organisations. 


6. Rising Star: 


This award is for a medical student who has distinguished him or herself academically, through research, or an important contribution to society. This individual must be exemplary, a role model to their peers, with evident talent and potential. This could be academic, through research, service or leadership e.g. a research project or publication, or has demonstrated service or leadership in medical training. 


7. Emerging Physician: 


This award is for medical registrars who have made an important contribution to medicine. This could be academic, through research, service or leadership. Evidence of an intervention, project or service is required. 



Making a nomination

•    You may nominate only one nominee per category

•    You may be self-nominated or nominated by an individual

•    You must submit one form for each nominee.